Four (Exhibition) | Miriam Bean
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-18560,bridge-core-2.1.4,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,vertical_menu_enabled,no_animation_on_touch,qode-title-hidden,paspartu_enabled,paspartu_on_top_fixed,paspartu_on_bottom_fixed,vertical_menu_outside_paspartu,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-theme-ver-20.2,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.1,vc_responsive

About This Project

Four is a series of sound-based works derived from a dissonant composition written for strings. A pure tone arrangement of the piece saturates all four corners of the gallery, whilst an interactive installation featuring conductive paint both disrupts and augments the surroundings. The exhibition highlights the psychoacoustics of sound, as well as ways in which to manipulate different types of computer data. Despite using old and new technologies in conjunction with an indeterminate performance by violin, viola, cello & double bass on the opening night, each work shares the same foundation of diatonic notes. Regardless of media, the works are translated or developed from the original composition. Through this exchange, viewers can see the how audio and visual data are not so dissimilar in the ways they can be shaped, and listeners can hear how harmony and cacophony are not so easily defined. 


Miriam’s first solo exhibition was supported by Phoenix (thanks to funding by Arts Council England & De Montfort University) through an open call to local artists working with new technology.



4.0 surround sound, 14:10:07

Pure tone arrangement of original score on repeat, each channel gradually slipping out of sync with other channels over the course of 14 hours.



Composed for violin, viola, cello & double bass

Indeterminate piece to be played without a fixed time signature or tempo. The composition developed from a previous project based on one of John Cage’s number pieces of the same name, which was written in 1989 using his time bracket technique.



Conductive paint, plywood, touch board, bass amplifier, music stand

Interactive piece using a Bare Conductive Touch Board & Electric Paint. Notes from octave C2 – B2 are selected at random after touching the painted sensors, with some sweeping tones layered on top to create ‘beating’: an auditory interference pattern which is perceived when two tones of similar frequencies are played together.



1828mm Ø print on 5mm foamed PVC

Sound data converted and manipulated as image data.

Composition, Installation, Interactive, Print, Sound